Helping You Understand Auto Insurance Matters
The term “20-40” means $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident. “20-40” insurance coverage is the minimum amount the state of Connecticut will allow anyone to have in place on a registered personal vehicle. It doesn’t mean this is the state’s recommended amount. In fact, you only have a “little bit” of protection if you are in an accident. The minimum limit was enacted in 1973. It has never been updated to reflect inflation in the cost of medical care, auto repair or time out of work.
Lettick & Lettick, P.C., in Hamden is a team of attorneys who can explain auto insurance matters in our state. With more than 40 years of combined experience, we will help you understand this industry, the coverage that you need and provide you with peace of mind.
Protecting Yourself From Claims Of Others
The “liability” portion of your policy protects you from the claims of people injured in accidents caused by you, and/or drivers insured through the terms and specifications of your auto policy. Your insurance company agrees to pay up to the “per person” and “per accident” amounts stated on your auto policy.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Limits Explained
This is the most important part of your auto insurance policy. High uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) limits are the best ways to protect yourself and the people who live with you from uninsured or underinsured drivers who cause accidents. UM/UIM protection on your policy allows you to choose higher limits than what you have for your liability coverage. The premiums associated with this portion of the policy are considerably lower. Protect yourself with high UM/UIM limits. Discuss your coverage immediately with your insurance agent.
Guiding And Protecting You, So Call Now
For some people, auto insurance may seem complicated, but you need a policy to protect yourself from other drivers and because it is the law. Lettick & Lettick, P.C., in Hamden, Connecticut has decades of experience in guiding hundreds of clients throughout New Haven County and the state. We will help you determine what you need to know about auto insurance. For a free one-hour consultation, contact us or call our team at 203-361-9330. Se habla español.